

## The Greater Tulsa Area Hispanic/Latinx Affairs Commission

## Meeting Minutes | May 12, 2022 | 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm

# Aaronson Auditorium, Central Library 400 Civic Ctr, Tulsa, OK, 74103

Members Present	Members Absent
Amairani Perez Chamu	Amy Ariza
Carlos Bejarano	Brandon Hendricks
Fatima Linares	Jordan Mazariegos
Chriss Chavez	Andy Little
Daniel Gomez	
Jessica Lozano	
Mimi Martinez	
Mark Ohensgore	
Amanda Peregrina	
Elsie Urueta Pollock	
Angelica Reina	
Jania Rivera Wester	

#### I. Call to Order

- a. Meeting called to order at 6:00 pm by Chairman Bejarano
- b. Commissioner Bejarano welcomes attendees and does commissioner roll call.

# II. Approval of Letter No. HAC-2022-05, Open Letter to TPS Board of Education

- a. Commissioner Gomez reads the final draft of the Open Letter to the TPS Board of Education.
  - i. Commissioner Bejarano makes a motion for approval and does a roll call for approval.
  - ii. All commissioners present in unanimous approval.
  - iii. Letter approved to be formally sent. Commissioner Bejarano mentioned that the letter will also be translated into Spanish before submitting.

## III. Tomas Rivera Awards Ceremony

- a. Commissioner Linares, Chair of the Education Committee begins recognizing this year's recipients.
  - i. Student recipients include Diana Bustos, Dove Science Academy; John Caballero, Memorial High School; Gregory Chavez and Cyannie Estrada, Tulsa School of Arts and Sciences; Litseg DelVal, Edison Preparatory High School; Keila Diaz, Nathalia Mireles-Mota and Emily Torres, Tulsa Honor Academy; Michelle Escobedo, Rigoberto Gonzalez, Ana Medina, and Lilu Padilla, Union High School; Stephany Ibarra-Gomez, Will Rogers College High School; Abigail Lara, Valeria Linares Gomez, Perla Mauricio, Keily Rangel Valero, Valeria Torres, and Jorge Vasquez, Booker T. Washington High School; Cinthia Lara, Will Rogers College High School; and Montserrat Maldonado Cortez, East Central High School.
  - ii. Heroes in Education honorees are Carmen De La Cruz and John Chargois with Union Public Schools, Angelica Reina Paez and Lizette Merchan with Tulsa



Community College, Anahi Messer with OSU-Tulsa, Cynthia Jasso with the George Kaiser Family Foundation, and Diana Pennington with Growing Together.

# IV. Adjournment

a. Meeting adjourned at 7:10 pm