Dream Keepers Honored

ARCHIVED PRESS RELEASE: Published 11-1-2012

The City of Tulsa Human Rights Department and the Greater Tulsa Indian Affairs Commission will hold its 15th Annual Dream Keepers Awards dinner on Tuesday, Nov. 6 at 6 p.m. at the University of Oklahoma-Tulsa Campus, Schusterman Center in the Learning Center Building, 4502 E. 41st St.

Admission is $10 at the door.

The Greater Tulsa Area Indian Affairs Commission will present awards to 12 local and former residents of Tulsa for their contributions and achievements to the local community. The Commission will hold this event to coincide with the National Native American Heritage Month, which celebrates and recognizes the accomplishments of the peoples who were the original inhabitants, explorers and settlers of the United States.

This year's recipients are:

  • Jimmy and Eunice Wildcat, Kenneth Anquoe Lifetime Achievement Award
  • James Ryals, Lewis B. Ketchum Excellence in Business Award
  • Cara Cowan Watts, Charles Chibitty Family Community Contributor Award
  • Curtis Zunigha, Will Anquoe Humanitarian Award
  • Raymond Rogers, Rennard Strickland Education Leadership Award
  • Teresa Runnels, Perry Aunko Indigenous Language Preservation Award
  • Justin Giles, Moscelyne Larkin Cultural Achievement Award
  • Patty Beaston, Dr. Ralph Dru Career & Professional Award
  • Nancie Warrior Longacre, Jim Thorpe Sports Excellence Award
  • Charles Diebold, Red Eagle Sacred Circle of Spirituality Award
  • Richard Tilden, Roberta Gardipe American Indian Veterans Award