twitter icon youtube icon instagram icon

City of Tulsa Creates Citizen Advisory Board and Action Groups as Part of Community Policing Initiative

This article was archived on 12/2/2017

Mayor G.T. Bynum and Tulsa Police Chief Chuck  Jordan announced members of the newly formed Citizen Advisory Board and Citizen Action Groups that will help build collaboration between the Tulsa Police Department (TPD) and the citizens of Tulsa.

“We recognize the need to improve the lines of communication between citizens and the Tulsa Police Department so all of us can work together to make our city safer. These groups will facilitate that necessary dialogue but their creation is just one step of many that we are taking,” Mayor G.T. Bynum said. “Tulsa is setting the standard across the nation when it comes to implementing a comprehensive community policing strategy, and I am thankful for these citizens who have stepped forward to offer their help.”

The Citizen Advisory Board will meet with Tulsa Police Department leadership to discuss high-level priorities for TPD and the City as it relates to community policing and public safety solutions.

Citizen Advisory Board Members (Appointed by Mayor Bynum):
Jamaal Dyer, Project Manager, 1921 Tulsa Race Riot Centennial Commission
John Graves, President of Cyclonic Valve Co. and former Tulsa Police Officer
Janet Levit, Vice President for Strategic Initiatives, University of Tulsa
Kathryn Lyons, Neighborhood safety advocate
Chip McElroy, CEO of McElroy Manufacturing
Gary Perceful, Tulsa School Board member
Laurie Phillips, Attorney
Vincente Ruiz, Owner of VR Electric
Aliye Shimi, Executive Director, Tulsa Metropolitan Ministry
Suzanne Stewart, Executive Director, Family Safety Center
Danny Williams, Attorney and former U.S. Attorney for Northern District of Oklahoma

Citizen Action Groups were also created in each uniform division for citizens to take a proactive approach in crime reduction and quality of life issues as it relates to their own communities. Members of the Citizen Action Groups below will serve as the base core of the group and additional citizens will be included for specific issues that arise in the community.

Citizen Action Groups (Appointed by TPD):

Gilcrease Division – Commanded by TPD Major Wendell Franklin
Maria Barnes
Arthur Candler
Jennettie Marshall
Tim Newton 

Mingo Valley Division – Commanded by TPD Major Laurel Ledbetter
Carole Carner
Cass Fahler
Brent Hatley
Daniel Sigala
Skip Steele
Dana York

Riverside Division – Commanded by TPD Major Paul Fields
Tim Clark
Kim Demaree
Dr. Lanny Endicott
Norm Smaligo
Matthias Wicks 

Community Policing in Tulsa

Composed of community members and city and police officials, the Tulsa Commission on Community Policing submitted 77 recommendations focused on community policing needs in Tulsa. Track the progress of Community Policing in Tulsa by visiting,