Dream Keepers Awards Banquet Tuesday, November 7

This article was archived on 11/8/2017

The Greater Tulsa Area Indian Affairs Commission will hold its 20th Annual Dream Keepers Awards Banquet on Nov. 7, at 6 p.m. in the OU-Tulsa Schusterman Campus Founders Hall, 4502 E. 41st St. This event is open to the public.

The Dream Keepers Awards Banquet celebrates Native American leaders in our community who exemplify strong character and have made a difference through solid dedication to public service. In observance of November as National Native American Heritage Month, the Greater Tulsa Area Indian Affairs Commission will honor these Dream Keeper awardees and celebrate our diversity.

Festivities will include a traditional Native dinner and a silent auction. Tickets will be sold at the door: $10 each, with no RSVP necessary. Cash, credit cards and checks will be accepted for admission.

Commissioner Matt Roberts will be the Master of Ceremonies, with Presentation of Colors by the Veterans Color Guard.

2017 Dream Keepers Awardees:

  • Kenneth Anquoe Lifetime Achievement Award – Walter Echo-Hawk
  • Lewis B. Ketchum Excellence in Business Award – Kugee Supernaw
  • Charles Chibitty Family Community Contributor Award – World Changers Organization
  • Will Anquoe Humanitarian Award – JoKay Dowell
  • Rennard Strickland Education Leadership Award – Harry Roy Red Eagle
  • Perry Aunko Indigenous Language Preservation Award – Mvskoke Language Program, Muscogee (Creek) Nation
  • Moscelyne Larkin Cultural Achievement Award – Minisa Crumbo
  • Dr. Ralph Dru Career & Professional Award – Dr. Jim Halsey
  • Jim Thorpe Sports Excellence Award – Joey Grayson
  • Red Eagle Sacred Circle of Spirituality Award – Pastor Ray Samuel
  • Roberta Gardipe American Indian Veterans Award – Don G. Tiger